State-by-state: 2016 Anzac Day trading hours

anzacTrading restrictions apply for retailers this Anzac Day, Monday April 25.

ARA executive director, Russell Zimmerman, said that confusion around trading hours on Anzac Day and whether or not the full day is a public holiday is common for both consumers and business owners.

The vast majority of businesses are unable to trade until 12:30 or 1pm, depending on which state or territory they are in.

Public holiday penalty rates apply for the entire day across the whole of Australia. The ARA has provided a state-by-state guide to trading hours around Australia:

Victorian based retailers cannot trade between midnight and 1pm on Anzac Day, unless they fall into the category of ‘exempt shop’. Exempt shops include chemists, petrol stations, cafes, restaurants, takeaway outlets and hire outlets such as video stores, businesses with 20 or fewer employees and businesses with no more than 100 workers at any one time in the seven days prior to Anzac Day. After 1pm, all businesses may open.

NSW follows similar rules to Victoria, with most businesses unable to open prior to 1pm, however, some exempt and small shops can open. These include including bookshops, chemists, newsagencies, petrol stations and convenience stores, among others. There are also a number of exempt trading areas, based on local Government areas.

In Tasmania, large retailers employing more than 250 people and those under a franchise agreement must not open before 12.30pm on Anzac Day. There are no trading restrictions on any other types of shops.

Anzac Day is considered a normal day of trade in the ACT, however, many businesses choose to follow the tradition in other states of not trading before 1pm.

South Australia
Other than exempt stores, Adelaide retailers are prohibited from opening before 12pm. Exempt businesses include service stations, restaurants, cafes, real estate auctions and night clubs and hotels where the main business is selling alcohol. Stores in the CBD and tourist precincts are permitted to trade from 12pm to 5pm, while all other Adelaide retailers will remain closed all day. Stores outside the Greater Adelaide Shopping District or a Proclaimed Shopping District can trade at any time.

Independent shops must wait until 1pm to trade on Anzac Day, unless they are predominately food and/or grocery stores, in which case they are permitted to open. Unless exempted, all other retail store types will be closed all day on Anzac Day, including supermarkets on the Gold Coast, Cairns CBD and Port Douglas. Exempted QLD businesses encompass those distributing newspapers, supplying milk, bakeries, cafes, and takeaway food kitchens.

Northern Territory
Anzac Day is considered a normal day of trade in the Northern Territory, although businesses many opt to remain closed before 1pm as a sign of respect.

Western Australia
Retailers in the Perth metropolitan area cannot trade on Anzac Day, with the exemption of small shops and ‘special retail shops’, which can trade between 6am and 11.30pm. These include pharmacies, garden nurseries, hardware, newsagencies, boating shops, and shops at sporting venues.

Access exclusive analysis, locked news and reports with Inside Retail Weekly. Subscribe today and get our premium print publication delivered to your door every week.

You have 7 articles remaining. Unlock 15 free articles a month, it’s free.