Free Subscription

  • Access 15 free news articles each month


Try one month for $5
  • Unlimited access to news,insights and opinions
  • Quarterly and weekly magazines
  • Independent research reports and forecasts
  • Quarterly webinars with industry experts
  • Q&A with retail leaders
  • Career advice
  • Exclusive Masterclass access. Part of Retail Week 2021

Winners of 2021 National Indigenous Fashion Awards revealed

Ngali designer Denni Francisco took home the Fashion Design Award at the second annual NIFA awards.

The winners of the second annual National Indigenous Fashion Awards (NIFA) were announced in Darwin on Tuesday evening, in a ceremony that celebrated the talent and innovation of First Nations artists and fashion designers. 

Presented by the Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair Foundation (DAFF) as part of the Indigenous Fashion Projects program, the awards aim to shine a light on the innovation, diversity and ethical practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander creatives, whilst contributing to the capacity building of the sector. 

The awards are supported in part by Country Road, which provides a 12-month mentorship to the winner of the fashion design award, covering areas such as product development, legal, marketing and sustainability. 

RMIT, Darwin Innovation Hub and the Northern Territory Government via NT Major Events Company also support the awards. 

This year, 31 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists and fashion designers were nominated, with winners selected from six unique categories: cultural adornment and wearable art, fashion design, textile design, community collaboration, environmental and social contribution and special recognition. 

Here are this year’s winners:

  • Paul McCann (Melbourne, VIC), for the Cultural Adornment and Wearable Art Award – co-presented with DAAF)
  • Denni Francisco, Ngali (Melbourne, VIC), for the Fashion Design Award – co-presented with Country Road 
  • Eunice Napanangka Jack, Ikuntji Artists(Haasts Bluff, NT), for the Textile Design Award – co-presented with RMIT University
  • Anindilyakwa Arts with Dr Aly de Groot and Anna Reynolds (Groote Eylandt, NT), for the Community Collaboration Award, co-presented by Darwin Innovation Hub
  • Mylene Holroyd of Pormpuraaw Art & Culture featuring Simone Arnol designs (Cairns/Pormpuraaw, QLD), for the Environmental and Social Contribution Award – co-presented with Northern Territory Government
  • Bima Wear (Tiwi Islands, NT), for the Special Recognition Award – co-presented with Northern Territory Government

You have 7 free articles.

Masterclasses are for professionals only

Only $5 p/m for first 3 months
Become a Professional Already a professional? Login
  • Daily exclusive Members Only content straight to your inbox
  • Access to exclusive Retail Week events including all 4 Masterclasses 28 February - 3 March
  • Retail insights and intelligence
  • On-demand videos with industry professionals
  • Weekly careers advice specific to retailers
  • Independent research reports and forecasts
  • Q&A with industry experts
  • Content, content, content! Weekly and quarterly magazines