State-by-state: 2018 Anzac Day trading hours

anzacThe retail sector will face certain trading restrictions on Anzac Day, April 25, which falls on a Wednesday.

Trading hours restrictions apply, in part or whole, to particular types of stores and the locations of  shops in specified areas of certain states. In some states, exempt stores will be able to trade.

Here’s a rundown state-by-state:


All businesses are allowed to operate after 1 p.m. in Victoria. Businesses that are allowed to trade for the entire day during the holiday include, but not limited to, chemists, cafes, restaurants, petrol stations and takeaway outlets. “Exempt shops” can also operate for the entire day.

These include businesses with 20 or fewer employees, or businesses with no more than 100 workers at any time in the seven days prior to Anzac day.


New South Wales’ trading schedule is similar to Victorian law. They are not allowed to open before 1 p.m.

Businesses in NSW that are exempted from trading laws include bazaars, fairs or markets, if they are conducted for a charitable or public fundraising purpose, book shops, cake and pastry shops, chemists shops, cooked provision shops, florists’ shops, fruit and vegetable shops, newsagents, nurseries, pet shops, recorded music, video or DVD shops, restaurants, cafes or kiosks, seafood shops, shops ancillary to venues for playing sport or physical recreation, souvenir shops, takeaway food and drink shops, tobacconists’ shops, and vehicle shops, vehicle service centres or petrol stations.

A number of local government areas are also exempt.


Businesses at the Australian Capital Territory are entitled to operate the entire day during the holiday, but many stores still elect to remain closed before 1 p.m.


In Tasmania, all businesses must be closed until 12:30 p.m. but the following are exempted from operating laws: service stations, restaurants, pharmacies, newsagents and cafes.

South Australia

In South Australia, businesses are not allowed to operate before 12 p.m. including those in the Adelaide CBD. Exempted to this are: service stations, cafes, restaurants, real estate auctions and nightclubs and hotels where the main business is selling alcohol.

These businesses are asked to remain closed until midday. Businesses that fall within deregulated areas have no trading restrictions.

These areas include Angaston, Port Pirie, Port Augusta, Gawler, Quorn, Hawker, Murray Bridge, Berri, Mt Barker, Renmark, Waikerie, Jamestown, Loxton, Clare, Victor Harbor and Mount Gambier. Shops in the Greater Adelaide District and the Proclaimed Shopping Districts are not allowed to trade for the entire day without express permission.

Western Australia

In Western Australia, no general businesses or retail shops are permitted to trade tomorrow, unless they fall into the exempt categories which are the small retail shops, newsagents, pharmacies, video shops and duty free shops (they may trade from 6:00 a.m. to 11:30 p.m).

Restaurants, cafes, takeaway food stores and retail shops located in public passenger terminals or stations are also exempted.

Northern Territory

In the Northern Territory, Anzac Day is considered an ordinary day of trading but some businesses elect not to trade before 1 p.m.


In Queensland, newsagents, bread/cake/pastry shops, camping equipment shops, fruit shops, sporting goods shops, pet shops, restaurants, cafes and refreshment shops are allowed to trade for the entire day.

Independent shops are required to remain closed until 1 p.m. Trade restrictions do not apply to shops that predominantly sell food and/or groceries.

Those businesses that are “non-exempt” are not allowed to trade for the entire day during the holiday.


You have 7 articles remaining. Unlock 15 free articles a month, it’s free.