Free Subscription

  • Access 15 free news articles each month


Try one month for $5
  • Unlimited access to news,insights and opinions
  • Quarterly and weekly magazines
  • Independent research reports and forecasts
  • Quarterly webinars with industry experts
  • Q&A with retail leaders
  • Career advice
  • Exclusive Masterclass access. Part of Retail Week 2021

Convenience industry recognised at gala awards

Digitally rendered store concept. Source: Brisbane City Council

unnamedThe up and coming stars of the convenience industry have been recognised at the Australasian Association of Convenience Stores (AACS) Gala Awards.

The AACS Peter Jowett Convenience Award is split into two categories – retailers and suppliers – with the winners judged by attendees of the 2015 AACS Convenience Leaders Summit.

Major awards for the convenience industry’s leading suppliers and retailers were also announced last night at the AACS Gala Awards, held at The Palladium in Melbourne.

Caltex was crowned Retailer of the Year, while Parmalat won Supplier of the Year.

This year’s winners  of the AACS Peter Jowett Convenience Award were Morgan Rossiter of BP and Kellie Anderson and Parmalat, who will both now attend the National Association of Convenience Stores (NACS) Show in Las Vegas from October 5 until 14. They will also participate in the global award challenge, which Australian’s entrants have won for the past three years in a row.

Jeff Rogut, CEO of AACS, said the day was a major success, unlocking new ideas, identifying new challenges, and exploring new opportunities for Australia’s convenience industry.

“The AACS Convenience Leaders Summit and Gala Awards not only allows us to focus on building a sustainable, profitable industry, it allows us to recognise those retailers, suppliers, and emerging professionals whose efforts are guiding the future of convenience in Australia,” Rogut said.

“The AACS Peter Jowett scholarship winners demonstrated creative, innovative thinking, and the trip to the NACS Show will be a valuable learning experience. Congratulations to all winners and finalists on the night.”

Supplier Award Category Winners

Beverage and Dairy – Parmalat

Confectionery – Mondelez

Tobacco – Philip Morris Limited

Food on the Go – Patties

Ice Cream and Snacking – Peters Ice Cream

GM/Publications/Telecoms – Pacific Optics

Service Provider – Advantage Australia

Distributor – The Distributors

AACS Major Awards for 2015

Retailer of the Year – Caltex

Supplier of the Year – Parmalat

Store winners for 2015

AACS Store of the Year 2015 – APCO Strathdale, Victoria

Company Operated store of the year – BP Marsden Park

Independent/Franchise Store of the year – BP Pymble (Jack & Co)

AACS Peter Jowett Convenience Industry Award 2015

Retail winner – Morgan Rossiter (BP)

Supplier winner – Kelly Anderson (Parmalat)

You have 7 free articles.