Free Subscription

  • Access 15 free news articles each month


Try one month for $5
  • Unlimited access to news,insights and opinions
  • Quarterly and weekly magazines
  • Independent research reports and forecasts
  • Quarterly webinars with industry experts
  • Q&A with retail leaders
  • Career advice
  • Exclusive Masterclass access. Part of Retail Week 2021

TerryWhite Chemmart wins top honour at the 2022 Retailer Awards

(Source: TerryWhite Chemmart)

Pharmacy retailer TerryWhite Chemmart has won the major prize at the 2022 Retailer Awards presented by Commonwealth Bank, taking out the award for Customer Experience of the Year in a medium to large business.

The win recognised a comprehensive Covid vaccination rollout program led by the pharmacy, described by one judge Jon Bird, executive director at VMLY&R Global, as “a thoroughly planned and executed program with demonstrable results”. 

Another judge, Dr Jason Pallant, a senior lecturer in marketing at Swinburne Business School, said the way TerryWhite Chemmart implemented the vaccination rollout campaign led to further benefits for the business including connecting with new consumer segments.

TerryWhite Chemmart outscored close rivals Rebel, Cotton On, Retail Prodigy Group and Bowen & Pomeroy for the award. 

The Customer Experience of the Year in a small business award, sponsored by Klarna, was won by HealthyLife, while the Online Store of the Year, sponsored by First Move Digital, was won by Mimco, who the judges complimented for “a crisply designed and delivered site – well thought through and executed”.

The Store Design/Concept of the Year was won by Sportitude, an Australian-owned multi-brand omnichannel sportswear retailer. “It’s hard to compete with the likes of Nike and Adidas internationally, but this Sportitude store punches above its weight,” said Bird. “As a runner, I found a lot to like about it, and the results are excellent.”

Inside Retail would like to thank all the judges for taking part this year including Commonwealth Bank national manager of retail Jerry Macey, executive director at VMLY&R Global Jon Bird, senior lecturer in marketing at Swinburne Business School, Dr Jason Pallant, Macquarie University Associate Professor Jana Bowden, entrepreneur Nicola Mansfield, senior advisor to the Australian Fashion Council Kellie Hush, and Inside Retail’s Jo-Anne Hui-Miller.

The full list of the award winners is:

Customer Experience of the Year (Medium to Large): TerryWhite Chemmart

Customer Experience of the Year (Small): HealthyLife

Online Store of the Year: Mimco

Store Design/Concept of the Year: Sportitude

Omnichannel Retailer of the Year: Winning Appliances

Retail Supplier of the Year: The General Store

Best Customer Service Team: Vinnies Victoria

In-Store Customer Service Initiative: Weber Store

Online Customer Service Initiative: Naked Wines

Loyalty Program/Campaign of the Year: Mimco

You have 7 free articles.